Marketing 101

Tap2Tap was ready. Everybody wanted to play it, but no-one knew it existed. It was time to make some really serious investments in advertising on Facebook.

The aim of my campaign was to get as many likes as possible for my Facebook page. If friends see you like something, maybe they would be inclined to like/download the game as well?

I talked to my inner CFO and have decided that $30 spread over 5 days should be enough to generate massive publicity and following. With such an enormous budget the sky was the limit!

As small as it may seem, the budget actually did let me test couple of strategies. Facebook lets you specify the target audience: their age, country, interests etc. Pretty cool I must say. If you know what your target market actually is.

My ad consisted of a screenshot plus one of the two titles: “Are you ready for a new challenge?” and “Have you tried the lightning mode?” (in lightning mode you have only one second to make each move – bloody hard). Questions demanded an answer. You don’t want to be a coward answering “No” to the former question. You don’t want to show your incompetence answering “No” to the latter question. Yes, I am a marketing guru.

Strategy #1: Users speaking language the game is in.

Tap2Tap is in English therefore I have chosen US, UK and Australia. It was a horrible strategy – hardly anyone viewed and clicked my ad. I think there was only one worse strategy than that – target humans as Tap2Tap is for humans.

Strategy #2: Mobile device users speaking language the game is in.

Obvious thing. Tap2Tap is a game for Android smartphones – why would anyone visiting Facebook on their PC want to click the ad? The click-rate improved, but still no new likes.

Strategy #3: Mobile device users from the countries which like these types of games.

Google Play (the biggest platform you put your Android apps on so that people can download them) provides you with statistics – you can see e.g. what is the percentage of people by country who have installed puzzle games. It turned out there were three major players: US, Japan and South Korea. The campaign was burning the budget like hell, but at least I’ve got my first “Likes”!

Strategy #4: Mobile device users from the country that gave the most “Likes”.

Of course, this strategy required some inputs specific for Tap2Tap – you don’t know who gives a “Like” if nobody has done it yet (ok, the page had some “Likes”, but all of them were from my friends, so no useful insights. No, no, no, no… I do care about your “Like”. It is my favorite one!). It turned out that almost all acquired “Likes” were from people from South Korea. South Koreans are not afraid to “Like” my page, therefore I should target only them! South Koreans are the best!

Strategy #5: Mobile device users who like games and who come from the country that gave the most “Likes”.

Why I haven’t thought about adding “Games” in the interests of the target group? That seems so obvious now. I must have gone mental blank. Unfortunately this was the last strategy I have managed to test and it was definitely the most successful. If I had been willing to throw away… sorry… to invest some more money, I would have probably experimented with the age groups (I was targeting users in the age group 18-35).

Final statistics:

– Mobile devices: 15,887 users targeted, 17,899 impressions, 237 clicks (1.324% of impressions), $1.42 CPM (cost per thousand impressions), $0.11 CPC (cost per click)

– Desktops: 3,120 users targeted, 3,165 impressions, 22 clicks (0.695%), $1.83 CPM, $0.26 CPC

In total: 14 likes acquired = more than 2$ per like. My inner CFO was not impressed, but at least it was a success in terms of learning and fun factor.

Have you “Liked” it yet? You will save me a lot of money!

Leave a Reply

